Race Report: 2017 Indianapolis 500

Logo of 2017 Indianapolis 500

Indianapolis 500
Indianapolis Motor Speedway
May 28, 2017



With the 100th Running of the Indianapolis 500 boldly etched into the history books, the Verizon IndyCar Series is set to add another chapter to the famed race’s unparalleled story.

Following Alexander Rossi’s breathtaking victory as a rookie last May, completing the final lap essentially without fuel, all 33 drivers set to embark on the 101st edition of the event on May 28 are confident in their shot at drinking the milk.

The Indianapolis 500 will mark the sixth round of the 2017 season for North America’s premier open-wheel championship, meaning the many offseason changes within the paddock have had time to settle in.

From an all-new AJ Foyt Racing team now featuring Carlos Munoz and Conor Daly powered by Chevrolet engines to Josef Newgarden now with Team Penske and an engine swap for Chip Ganassi Racing too, plenty has changed since the season-ending GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma last September — and since last year’s storied Indianapolis 500, for that matter.

As one of the drivers to move teams from 2016 to 2017, Takuma Sato is set for his first Indianapolis 500 with Andretti Autosport, a team fielding six entries for the 250-lap race. Sato, Marco Andretti, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Rossi and rookie Jack Harvey will compete under Michael Andretti’s program, as will two-time Formula One World Champion Fernando Alonso, whose participation serves as the headlining act this year.

Use the drop-down menus or the links that follow to view session results, important times, entrant facts, weather forecast, track facts and history.

Shortly after the checkered flag, post-race information will occupy this page.


Comment here...