Power Paces Morning Warm-Up at IMS

Will Power turns on IMS road course
Photo: Bret Kelley / INDYCAR

Twenty-two Verizon IndyCar Series drivers took to the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course for one final opportunity to fine-tune setups ahead of the INDYCAR Grand Prix with the fastest lap belonging to pole sitter Will Power.

The 30-minute session got off to a slow start for Tony Kanaan with the driver of the No. 10 stranded on pit lane without power. The problem was quickly resolved and he made it out on track, though off the pace of his teammates Scott Dixon and Max Chilton.

After five minutes, Simon Pagenaud held the fastest lap before giving way to Josef Newagarden’s 1:11.7783 and Takuma Sato’s 1:11.6983.

Helio Castroneves, starting second in the INDYCAR Grand Prix, topped the timesheet at the halfway point. The Team Penske veteran gave way to Graham Rahal whose 1:10.4851 put him on top with 10 minutes remaining.

Power demonstrated his dominance of the 2.439-mile, 14-turn road course with a 1:10.2014 that put him on top with just over seven minutes to go.

Inside the final five minutes, Dixon set the second-fastest lap with the 1:10.4306 slotting him behind Power. With one minute remaining, Newgarden’s 1:10.2575 knocked Dixon to third, giving Team Penske a 1-2 at the top of the timesheet.

At the checkered flag, Power’s time remained unchallenged with Newgarden, Dixon, Rahal and Marco Andretti completing the top five.

Pagenaud, Sebastien Bourdais, Castroneves, Ryan Hunter-Reay and Sato rounded out the top 10 fastest lap times.

The series will be back on track at IMS for the 85-lap INDYCAR Grand Prix with the green flag expected at 3:50 p.m. EDT. Broadcast coverage will begin on ABC at 3:30 p.m.

What do you think?