Bourdais Tops Wet Warm-Up at The Glen

Sebastien Bourdais speeds through Turn 8 at Watkins Glen
Sebastien Bourdais was fastest in wet conditions at Watkins Glen while warming up for the 2017 INDYCAR Grand Prix at The Glen. | Photo: Joe Skibinski / INDYCAR

Twenty-one Verizon IndyCar Series drivers hit the slightly damp 3.37-mile, 11-turn Watkins Glen International road course for a final chance to prepare for the INDYCAR Grand Prix at The Glen with Sebastien Bourdais turning the fastest lap.

Teams were given the option of running Firestone rain tires in the 30-minute warm-up session. Due to the conditions, few laps were turned and times were significantly off of the pace seen in practice and qualifying.

Bourdais’ best in the No. 18 Dale Coyne Racing Honda came on his fifth of 10 laps turned. The 1:45.9510 was just one-hundredth of a second clear of the second fastest time of the session.

Pole sitter Alexander Rossi was second fastest in the No. 98 Andretti Autosport Honda, the second of two Honda-powered cars in the top five.

Helio Castroneves ended the session as the top Chevrolet-backed driver with a 1:46.0419 turned by the No. 3 Team Penske machine.

Carlos Munoz dives into Turn 5 at Watkins Glen
Carlos Munoz was fourth fastest in morning warm-up at Watkins Glen. | Photo: Bret Kelley / INDYCAR

Carlos Munoz put AJ Foyt Racing into the top five with the fourth-fastest lap in No. 14 Chevrolet. The 1:46.1930 was just over two-tenths of a second shy of Bourdais’ chart-topping time.

Simon Pagenaud ended warm-up with the fifth-fastest time, the second Penske driver in the top five. The 1:46.2526 was three-tenths of a second shy of the fastest lap.

Max Chilton, Conor Daly, Marco Andretti, Josef Newgarden and four-time Watkins Glen winner Scott Dixon completed the top 10. Honda and Chevrolet evenly split the group with five cars each.

While some drivers had to catch their cars on the wet surface, there were no significant incidents and no interruptions to green-flag running.

Next up for the series is the 60-lap race scheduled to go green at 1:47 p.m. EDT. Television coverage will begin on NBCSN at 1 p.m. and the command to start engines will be given at 1:40 p.m.

What do you think?