Conor Daly laps Toronto IndyCar track in Harding Indy car
The reigning winners of the Freedom 100 and Indy Lights championship will drive for Harding Steinbrenner Racing in 2019. | Photo: Andy Clary / Spacesuit Media

Having recently completed its first full season of IndyCar Series competition, Harding Racing will partner with Steinbrenner Racing to field Indy Lights standouts Patricio O’Ward and Colton Herta in 2019.

Both drivers recently completed successful seasons on the top rung of the Road to Indy developmental ladder with O’Ward capturing the series championship and Herta finding victory lane in the Freedom 100 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway en route to finishing second in the standings. Both drivers competed for Andretti Autosport.

The rookie drivers, who both made their IndyCar debuts at Sonoma Raceway, will drive full-time next year in the same cars they debuted in. Herta will return to the No. 88 while O’Ward will pilot the No. 8 when the season begins March 8–10 on the streets of St. Petersburg.

With the addition of George Steinbrenner IV’s name, expertise and ownership interest to the Harding Racing team owned by Mike Harding and run by Brian Barnhart as team president, the newly named Harding Steinbrenner Racing will operate out of Harding’s shop on Main Street in Speedway, Indiana.

While the traditional silly season has been relatively quiet since newly minted five-time champion Scott Dixon reaffirmed his commitment to Chip Ganassi Racing, the move made by Harding and Steinbrenner to hire two talented rookies stands as the first of the offseason.

What do you think?